Triple treat: Eclipse, comet, full moon all entrance Friday night

February 8, 2017 - Supermoon

Skywatchers will suffer a singular space triple-header Friday night and early Saturday morning: A “penumbra” lunar obscure during a full “snow” moon — and a flyby of a comet.

Here’s a demeanour during what we will see if we set your eyes to a night sky:

Penumbral lunar eclipse

Eagle-eyed skywatchers will see a “penumbral” lunar obscure Friday dusk during a full moon.

Not as fantastic — or conspicuous — as a sum lunar eclipse, this rather pointed materialisation occurs when a moon moves by a outdoor partial of Earth’s shade (known as a penumbra), according to EarthSky.org.

The outdoor shade of a Earth blocks partial — though not all — of a sun’s rays from reaching a moon, creation it seem somewhat darker than usual.

The accurate impulse of a penumbral obscure is 7:43 p.m. ET (6:43 p.m. CT, 5:43 p.m. MT and 4:43 p.m. PT), NASA said.

The obscure will be manifest from Europe, Africa, western Asia and eastern North and South America, NASA reports.

About 35% of all eclipses are of a penumbral type.

Full “snow” moon

As compulsory during any lunar eclipse, a moon will be full Friday night. And this month it’s nicknamed a “snow” moon.

According to a Farmers’ Almanac, full moon names date behind to Native Americans in a northern and eastern U.S. Each full moon has a possess name.

“The tribes kept lane of a seasons by giving particular names to any repeated full moon,” a calendar reports. “Their names were practical to a whole month in that any occurred.”

Calling February’s full moon a “snow” moon is right on target: On average, Feb is a USA’s snowiest month, according to information from a National Weather Service.

The Farmer’s Almanac reports some tribes referred to February’s moon as a “hunger” moon, since oppressive continue conditions done sport difficult.

Comet 45P

A few hours after a eclipse, Comet 45P, that has been manifest after nightfall for a past dual months by binoculars and telescopes, creates a closest proceed to Earth, when it will be “only” 7.4 million miles away, NASA said.

Look to a easterly around 3 a.m. Saturday morning, where it will be visible in a sky in a constellation Hercules. Binoculars or a telescope could be helpful. Watch for a splendid blue-green “head” with a tail.

It will be manifest in several points of a night sky until a finish of February, according to NASA. If we skip it, don’t worry: It will lapse again in 2022, said Jane Houston Jones of NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

USA TODAY

source ⦿ http://www.whas11.com/news/nation-now/triple-treat-eclipse-comet-full-moon-all-coming-friday-night/403024047

More moon ...

› tags: Supermoon /